gdts-dimplex-waermepumpe-system-zero-abstrakt-grau-bild

Zero restrictions.
Zero waste.
System Zero is here.

Play Video

A revolution in heat pumps for trade and industry.

 

There’s a new force in heat pumps for commercial and industrial applications: System Zero. Forget “either/or” – System Zero is the first series-produced heat pump to combine various heat sources, including waste heat, and regulate them for maximum efficiency. All while running on the environmentally friendly cooling agent propane.

System Zero heat sources
System Zero by GDTS Front

Facts

  • Air-to-water and brine-to-water heat pumps in a single housing
  • Combined heating and cooling function (reversible technology)
  • Comfort throughout buildings up to 1,000m² (including hot water)
  • Environmentally friendly propane cooling agent
  • Via air-to-water circuit:
    It uses air, a constantly available heat/cold source
  • Via brine-to-water circuit:
    It uses geothermal energy and waste heat, and allows multiple sources in parallel
  • Intelligent control of air and brine sources:
    Through alternating or parallel operation is always efficient and always automatic

Zero waste heat wasted.
Zero cost explosions.


Waste heat isn’t wasted any more –
– in fact it helps save costs for heating and cooling. System Zero.

„You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs,” goes the old proverb. And if you’re heating or cooling, you’re wasting valuable energy. Whether it’s a computer centre, cold store or apartment complex, large buildings and commercal and industrial facilities produce a lot of waste heat. That’s hardly to be avoided, given the laws of physics. But does the energy really have to go to waste? That was the question that led a team at Glen Dimplex Thermal Solutions to come up with an unusual solution: System Zero. Zero waste heat wasted. Zero fear that heating and cooling costs will go through the roof. System Zero is the world’s first large-format propane heat pump system that draws energy from various different heat sources, especially waste heat sources, potentially even in parallel. The result? Radically efficient energy usage. Radically lower energy costs.

Warehouse of a restaurant chain:
heating from cooling units.

System Zero Warehouse of a restaurant chain

Computer centre:
heating with server coolers.

System Zero server cooler in a computer centre

Apartment blocks or luxury villas:
plenty of heating, minimal costs.

Use of System Zero in apartment blocks or villas

How we came up with System Zero.
It was a cold, rainy October day in 2012. Maik Heydrich was on his way back home from his 220th customer visit. To date he had developed 220 different tailor-made models for cooling computer centres, or used geothermal energy to heat whole apartment complexes, or set up systems to supply warehouses and their offices with heat. And for the 220th time, Heydrich asked himself the question: can’t we do more? Can’t we combine different technologies and construction principles even better into one highly efficient overall system... ideally one that also incorporates waste heat? It was a thought that Maik Heydrich just couldn’t shake off as he drove through the rain. “It was the loss of waste heat in particular that had always bugged me,” he explains. “That was the same for all of us at Glen Dimplex Thermal Solutions: we just hate losing energy.” Instead of driving home, Heydrich headed to the office. A night at the drawing board followed. The idea had taken root. An idea that would revolutionise the heating and cooling of commercial and industrial facilities as well as large buildings – in an extremely cost-efficient way.

Maik Heydrich and his team:
in the beginning was the idea.
Six months later came the revolution in heating and cooling.

System Zero: Heydrich and his team

Maik Heydrich (main image), Uwe Steeger (above, left), Dieter Müller (above, right)

The heroes of the refrigeration circuit

The next morning Maik Heydrich called together his team of experts under Project Manager Dieter Müller and Engineer Uwe Steeger. Together they kept tinkering – and developed a plan for a heat pump that could do more than any other available heating solution. First, the new system would use at least two different heat sources, including waste heat. Second, the system would constantly optimise itself thanks to clever regulation, and depending on requirements decide which source should be tapped and in what quantity. This would guarantee maximum efficiency at all times. Third, the new system would naturally cool as well, thanks to its reverse circuit. Fourth, the new system would use the environmentally friendly cooling agent propane. Also, customers would be able to use the new system in a radically simple way: no-fuss installation, no maintenance woes during operation. And, at the same time the, new system would be highly flexible so it could fulfil as many different tasks as possible – in the warehouse, in the apartment block, in the computer centre. It didn’t take long to come up with a name for the new system: System Zero. Zero as in zero restrictions, zero difficulty, zero waste, zero problems, zero cost explosions. Just six months later the prototype was ready.

Plan System Zero of GDTS

Technically speaking, System Zero hits the jackpot. “External air is used as the primary heat source,” explains Heydrich. “A brine circuit uses other heat sources, such as geothermal energy, and above all waste heat.” In the past the only options were air-to-heat or brine-to-heat pumps. What does combining the two offer? “The best of both worlds – depending on requirements!” says Uwe Steeger. “And that goes for normal load as much as full load.” That’s particularly apparent when the system is used in apartment blocks. System Zero can use air as a heat source down to an exterior temperature of 2 °C. At lower temperatures, and when the demand for heating is greater, it switches over to the ground, a constantly available heat source, via the brine circuit. “The control technology recognises precisely when it make sense to do so,” says Dieter Müller. The brine circuit can draw energy from other waste heat sources besides the ground, too. As a result, System Zero is suitable for use in many different settings. Anywhere, in fact, where previously unused heat is available. In the warehouse of a restaurant chain the heat can come from the refrigerated section, in the computer centre from water- or air-based server coolers. “In both scenarios System Zero can use these sources to heat or even cool rooms more efficiently than an air-to-heat pump could on its own,” says Müller admiringly. The cost savings? “Up to 25%” And that’s all with an amazingly low initial investment. “That brainwave in the car really paid off,” says Heydrich.

What can we do for you?

Would you like to get more information? Please get in touch with us.

Click here.

gdts-dimplex-waermepumpe-system-zero-abstrakt-grau-bild

Null Einschränkung.
Null Verschwendung.
System Zero ist da.

Produktfilm abspielen

Die Wärmepumpen-Revolution für Gewerbe und Industrie.

Das ist die neue Macht unter den Wärmepumpen für gewerblich-industrielle Anwendungen: System Zero. Null „entweder-oder“: Als erste in Serie gefertigte Wärmepumpe überhaupt kombiniert System Zero verschiedene Wärme- sowie Abwärmequellen miteinander, steuert diese automatisch maximal effizient – und läuft mit dem umweltfreundlichen Kältemittel Propan.

System Zero Wärmequellen
System Zero von GDTS Frontal

Fakten.

  • Luft/Wasser- und Sole/Wasser-Wärmepumpe in einem Gehäuse
  • Kombinierte Heiz- und Kühlfunktion (reversible Technologie)
  • Gebäudeklimakomfort bis zu 1.000 m² (Warmwasserbereitung inklusive!)
  • Klimafreundliches Propan als Kältemittel
  • Über Luft/Wasser-Kreis: Nutzung der Wärme-/Kältequelle
    Luft – immer verfügbar
  • Über Sole/Wasser-Kreis:
    Nutzung von Geothermie und Abwärme – auch mehrere Quellen parallel erschließbar
  • Intelligente Regelung der Luft- und Solequelle:
    Alternativ- bzw. Parallelbetrieb – immer effizient, immer automatisch

Null Abwärmeverlust.
Null Kostenexplosion.


Abwärme geht nicht mehr verloren –
sondern wird beim Heizen und Kühlen zum Kostensparen genutzt: System Zero.

„Wo gehobelt wird, da fallen Späne“, so heißt es in einem alten Sprichwort. Und wo geheizt oder gekühlt wird, verpufft wertvolle Energie. Egal ob im Rechenzentrum, Kühlhäusern oder in einem Wohnkomplex: Gerade in größeren Gebäuden sowie in Gewerbe- und Industrieanlagen entsteht viel Abwärme – was physikalisch kaum zu vermeiden ist. Muss diese Energie aber wirklich ungenutzt verloren gehen? Diese Frage trieb ein Team bei Glen Dimplex Thermal Solutions so lange an, bis eine außergewöhnliche Lösung gefunden war: System Zero! Null Abwärme verlieren. Null Angst vor Heiz- und Kühl-Ausgaben, die durch die Decke gehen: System Zero ist das weltweit erste großformatige Propan-Wärmepumpensystem, das Energie aus mehreren unterschiedlichen Wärme- und eben vor allem Abwärme-Quellen bezieht – auch parallel geschaltet. Ergebnis: Radikal effiziente Energienutzung. Radikal weniger Energiekosten.

Warenlager einer Restaurant-Kette:
Heizung aus Kühlaggregaten

Beispiel Einsatz System Zero Warenlager

Rechenzentrum:
Heizen mit dem Serverkühler

Beispiel Einsatz System Zero Rechenzentrum

Mehrfamilienhaus:
Große Heizung, geringe Kosten

Beispiel Einsatz System Zero Mehrfamilienhaus

Wie wir System Zero erfunden haben.
Ein kalter, verregneter Oktobertag im Jahr 2012: Ungefähr 220 Termine hatte Maik Heydrich bereits absolviert, als er wieder einmal auf dem Heimweg von einem Kunden war. 220 Mal hatte er passgenaue Modelle entwickelt, um Rechenzentren zu kühlen. Oder Geothermie genutzt, um ganze Wohnkomplexe zu heizen. Oder ein System aufgesetzt, um ein Warenlager und dessen Büros mit Wärme zu versorgen. Und zum ungefähr 220 Mal stellte sich Heydrich die Frage: Geht da nicht noch mehr? Könnte man nicht viel konsequenter unterschiedliche Technologien und Konstruktionsprinzipien zu einem hoch effizienten Gesamtsystem kombinieren – das idealerweise auch Abwärme einbezieht? Ein Gedanke, der Maik Heydrich bei dieser Autofahrt durch den Regen einfach nicht mehr losließ. „Gerade der Verlust der Abwärme hat mich schon immer genervt“, erzählt Heydrich. „Das geht uns allen so bei Glen Dimplex Thermal Solutions: Wir hassen es einfach, Energie zu verschwenden.“ Statt nach Hause fuhr Heydrich damals ins Büro. Eine Nacht am Klemmbrett. Der Gedanke hatte sich festgesetzt. Ein Gedanke, der das Heizen und Kühlen von Gewerbe- und Industrieanlagen sowie von größeren Gebäuden revolutionieren sollte – auf extrem kostensparende Weise.

Maik Heydrich und sein Team:
Erst war es ein Gedanke.
Sechs Monate später die Revolution des Heizens und Kühlens.

System Zero: Heydrich und sein Team

Maik Heydrich, Uwe Steeger, Dieter Müller (von links nach rechts)

Die Helden des Heizkreises.

Schon am nächsten Morgen holte Maik Heydrich sein Experten-Team um Projektleiter Dieter Müller und Ingenieur Uwe Steeger zusammen. Gemeinsam tüftelten sie weiter – und entwickelten einen Plan für eine Wärmepumpe, die mehr kann als alle anderen bereits verfügbaren Heizlösungen. Erstens: Das neue System nutzt mindestens zwei unterschiedliche Wärmequellen, unter anderem eben auch Abwärme. Zweitens: Das neue System optimiert sich dank schlauer Regelung laufend selbst – und entscheidet bedarfsabhängig, welche Quellen in welchem Umfang angezapft werden. So garantiert es immer maximale Effizienz. Drittens: Das neue System kann dank reversibler Schaltung natürlich auch noch kühlen. Viertens: Das neue System nutzt das klimafreundliche Kältemittel Propan. Außerdem sollte das neue System für den Kunden auch noch radikal einfach einzusetzen sein: null Mühe bei der Installation, null Wartungsärger beim Betrieb. Und gleichzeitig muss das neue System sehr flexibel sein, um möglichst vielfältige Aufgaben erfüllen zu können: Im Warenlager genauso wie im Wohnkomplex genauso wie im Rechenzentrum. Der Name für das neue System war schnell gefunden: System Zero. Zero wie null: null Einschränkung, null Schwierigkeiten, null Verschwendung, null Probleme, null Kostenexplosion. Nach nur sechs Monaten war der Prototyp fertig.

Skizze System Zero von GDTS

Technisch ist System Zero ein Volltreffer: „Außenluft dient als erste Wärmequelle“, erklärt Maik Heydrich. „Ein Solekreis erschließt weitere Wärmequellen, zum Beispiel Geothermie, vor allem aber Abwärme.“ Bisher kannte man entweder Luft- oder Sole-Wärmepumpen. Was bringt die Kombination? „Das Beste aus zwei Welten: je nach Bedarf!“, sagt Uwe Steeger: „Also bei Regel- genauso wie bei Volllast.“ Besonders gut zeigt sich das am Beispiel eines Wohnblocks. System Zero nutzt die Wärmequelle Luft bis zu einer Außentemperatur von 2° Celsius. Bei niedrigeren Temperaturen und höherem Heizbedarf wird automatisch die konstant verfügbare Wärmequelle Erdreich über den Solekreislauf dazugeschaltet. „Die Regelungstechnik erkennt genau, wann sich das lohnt“, so Dieter Müller. Statt aus der Erde kann sich der Solekreislauf die Energie aus mehreren Abwärmequellen holen. So ergeben sich viele faszinierende Einsatzgebiete für System Zero – eigentlich überall, wo bisher ungenutzte Wärme verfügbar ist. Im Warenlager einer Restaurant-Kette entsteht sie durch Kühlregale, in Rechenzentren durch wasser- oder luftbasierte Server-Kühlungen. „In beiden Szenarien kann System Zero auf diese Weise zum Beispiel Räume viel effizienter beheizen oder auch kühlen, als es eine Luft-Wärmepumpe alleine je könnte“, schwärmt Müller. Kostenersparnis? „Bis zu minus 25 Prozent!“ Und das bei einem erstaunlich geringen Investitionsaufwand. „Der Einfall damals im Auto“, so Heydrich, „hat sich wirklich bezahlt gemacht.“

Wir sind für Sie da.

Sie möchten weitere Informationen zu unseren Produkten erhalten oder haben eine Frage?
Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter.

Hier geht's zum Kontaktformular.